Thread: First Chords

Default First Chords

Good afternoon. Full disclosure, I am a complete beginner and am learning some simple tunes by tab. I have tried to search and am having trouble finding a conclusive answer. I know chords are important but what I don't know are which ones to learn first. If you could list the 6 or 10 most versatile and widely used chords it would be most appreciated. I have a chord app on my phone, as well as a chord book, so finding them shouldn't be an issue. I just need to know where to focus my time.

Thanks for any and all help.

Rex

Default Re: First Chords

Go to the chord link on this site. Click the "Two-finger chords" link. There you will find a lot of what you want to learn.
    "I thought I knew a lot about music. Then you start digging and the deeper you go, the more there is."~John Mellencamp

"Theory only seems like rocket science when you don't know it. Once you understand it, it's more like plumbing!"~John McGann

"IT'S T-R-E-M-O-L-O, dangit!!"~Me

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jim Broyles For This Useful Post:

The Amateur Mandolinist Mark Gunter's Avatar
    South of Cleburne, North of Hillsboro, Texas

Quote Originally Posted by REH1966 View Post
    I am a complete beginner and am learning some simple tunes by tab. I have tried to search and am having trouble finding a conclusive answer.
    One reason you're not finding a conclusive answer is because there really isn't one. The answer for "which chords should I learn first" has too many dependencies, for example, what songs do you wish to learn?

For ease, you can begin learning the two finger chords and maybe some doublestops as well, but this is not a definitive answer, and there is no reason you couldn't learn three-finger chords or four-finger chords if you have the knack.