Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: [FIRST MANDOLIN] The Loar, Eastman, Kentucky?

Default [FIRST MANDOLIN] The Loar, Eastman, Kentucky?

Hi all!

First of all, sorry for my bad english (I'm not mothertongue)

My name is Luca, I'm from Italy and this is my first post on this forum... I think this is probably the best mandolin forum all over the world, that's why I'm looking for your help!

I'm a self-taught amateur folk guitar player, this is my equipment:

- Ovation Standard Ballader 1861 AX-5
    - Fender Stratocaster Mexico
    - Hohner Marine Band (C, G, E keys)
    - Line6 POD HD300

Waiting for graduation gift (Martin D-18E or D-35E Retro: 2 years left!), I'm looking for another upgrade: my first mandolin!

I'm a newbie and I'm unable to find a shop (here in Italy) where I can try and compare mandolins (they have just poor quality mandolins, around 50-100$). For this reason, I can only read reviews and hear youtube videos and... ask for your help!

I made a lot of researches (on this forum, youtube,...) and I found 3 brands that might be fine and suit my preferences: Eastman, The Loar, Kentucky.

- budget: 600/1000€
    - F-Style preferred*
    - Folk music tone
    - availability in EU**
    - easy to play with a big hand***

*I know there's not a sound improvement from A to F-style, but I really love appearence of F-style
    **EUR/USD exchange rate is good, but import taxes and shipping costs are too much high... Shipping cost is around 80$ and import taxes are around 30% of price+shipping costs!
    ***L size: widht: 3,5" (9cm) - lenght 7,9" (20cm)

Below, a table with some list price compared across different countries (US, UK, IR) and currencies (USD, GBP, EUR).

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Immagine.png 
Views:	331 
Size:	27.3 KB 
ID:	146716

Best shop seems Kieran Moloney in Galway (the green one in table): CA bridge and full setup are available, good list price and not too expensive shipping costs.

Actual buying ranking: