Thread: How to play every major chord on the mandolin (Beginner Lesson)

Default How to play every major chord on the mandolin (Beginner Lesson)

This might be a little redundant for the more advanced players but I think it's a really useful lesson for some of the beginner or intermediate players. I wish somebody would have explained this to me a right when I started playing!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y-43qLPL7eo

2. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to rwesleycarr For This Useful Post:

Blog Entries

Default Re: How to play every major chord on the mandolin (Beginner Lesso

Good stuff well explained. Yea and the earlier the moveable shape is presented and understood the better.

I would only add one thing to make it gigantic. And that is that I group the chord shapes in threes. So, for example I worked out a G shape and C shape and D shape that I can easily move between. I keep those shapes together in my mind, and practice going between them. Then I did this crazy step, instead of thinking of G, C, and D, shapes, I think, 1, 4, and 5 shapes, as they are the first fourth and fifth of the G scale, prominent chords for any tune in G. But they are really the 1, 4, and 5 shape for what ever key the 1 shape chord is. So if I move up to A, and use these shapes, I automatically have my A, D, and E, which will likely be the important chords in that A tune. Where ever I might move that 1 shape, anywhere on the fret board, I have the 4 and the 5 shape close at hand, already practiced transitions.

So I have the most important chords for most of the tunes in any key at all.