Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Favorite Key and Why

Default Favorite Key and Why

Caveat: I'm talking single and double stop melody/harmony and improv, not chording. I know that ideally and technically, all keys should be equal. But to some extent, that ignores the way the mandolin fret board in GDAE is laid out. When I was a beginner, I really liked D major, because that seemed the easiest for me to play.

Now that I can play in any key, I'm really liking the key of F major. It just seems the opportunities for double stops are very rich and they just seem to fall under my fingers. Also, my three mandolins, which are all quite different, just seem to sound great in that range. It hits that mid-range (relative to the mandolin's range) that sounds so great on the mandolin. Also, you have that open A that makes a good double stop with the root F on the 3rd string, 3rd fret.

I play church music and find all kinds of opportunities to do pleasing stuff in F on gospel music (like "Go Tell it On the Mountain") and other church music, a lot of which we do in F. One reason we use F a lot is that it seems to put a lot of tunes in the singing range of a congregation of mostly untrained singers.

I'd be interested to know if others have favorite keys and why.

2. The following members say thank you to John Flynn for this post:

Default Re: Favorite Key and Why

Although I like playing in any/all keys, the best overall key for me on mandolin is the ubiquitous key of G.
    Except when I'm playing Klezmer of Gypsy jazz - then my favorite key is Dm.

Blog Entries

This beginner still likes D major for picking but can't sing many vocal tunes in D. I've never worked a tune in F but plan to now. Thx

When trying to play a new tune from written notation, C and G have their attraction.

I play comfortably in the Keyes of G,D,A and E, ,,,I go in and out of those and then flatten the Keyes when playing jazz....

Confused... or?
    Over the Hudson & thru the woods from NYC