Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Album Recommendations

The Amateur Mandolinist Mark Gunter's Avatar
    South of Cleburne, North of Hillsboro, Texas

Question Album Recommendations

OK, so I'm a long-time guitarist but new to the mandolin (about eight months) and to bluegrass (about the same). I am looking for suggestions on where to start in collecting albums. I have a whole bunch of Doc Watson's stuff already, as I am a long-time player of acoustic blues guitar and other Americana tunes on guitar. Recently, I've gotten a Bill Monroe anthology, but that's about it.

I am interested in suggestions related to mandolin, of course. Music that interests me most is: Bluegrass, Irish, Old-time, Blues, Jazz, Classical - I know that's a lot, but that's my interest.

I have nothing by Nickel Creek or Thile, nothing by Sam Bush, Tim Obrien, Jethro Burns, Dawg . . .

So, if you could have only one album by each of them, what would it be? And what about other must-have artists/recordings?

TIA. And, Happy New Year!
    WWW.THEAMATEURMANDOLINIST.COM
    ----------------------------------
    "Life is short. Play hard." - AlanN

HEY! The Cafe has Social Groups, check 'em out. I'm in these groups:
    Newbies Social Group | The Song-A-Week Social
    The Woodshed Study Group | Blues Mando
    - Advice For Mandolin Beginners
    - YouTube Stuff

Default Re: Album Recommendations

Aaarrrrgggghhh! Can't believe I posted this in the wrong forum! This was meant for General Discussion . . . Sorry!

- YouTube Stuff

Loarcutus of MandoBorg DataNick's Avatar

Rounder Records 0044...
    1994 Gibson F5L - Weber signed

"Mandolin brands are a guide, not gospel! I don't drink koolaid and that Emperor is naked!"
    "If you wanna get soul Baby, you gots to get the scroll..."
    "I would rather play music anyday for the beggar, the thief, and the fool!"
    "Perfection is not attainable; but if we chase perfection we can catch excellence" Vince Lombardi