Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Should a beginner buy electric mandolin?

Question Should a beginner buy electric mandolin?

I am a novice and playing with mandolin only for few months.

Should I buy an electric mandolin now or wait till I reach intermediate level first?

Also, can an eletric mandolin be played without electricity? e.g. when I am outdoor without electricity.

Do I still need to tune it just like non electric ones? Or it will hold tuning like a piano?

Default Re: Should a beginner buy electric mandolin?

Unless you are planning to play rock mandolin or play in an amplified band, I'd pass on the electric mandolin for now, and maybe even never get one.

Get a best-for-your-budget-and-style acoustic mandolin.Heck, you can put a contact pickup on it if needed later.

An electric mandolin is just like an electric guitar or bass. Tuned the same as the regular instrument, played the same (more or less!) and you do need to tune it. Mandolins do NOT hold tuning like a piano, you need to adjust it every time you take it out of the case, and often in between songs. But it's a lot easier to tune than a piano, it's more like tuning a guitar or banjo.

Where the electricity is needed is the amplifier; although there are some battery amps, most amps plug into the AC current like a TV or other appliance. The amplifier is other part of the package.

There are basically 3 types of ways to amplify:

1. some sort of microphone, which can even be inside the instrument

2. a contact pickup, either inside or on the outside, usually the soundboard; typical of electro-acoustic guitars, the ones that are an acoustic guitar but have built-in pickups and need a battery and have a small set of controls on the side upper bout.

3. a magnetic pickup like those used on most electric guitars. These also can sound less like an acoustic mandolin, which can be good or bad depending on what you want.

Anyway, just get a regular mandolin first.