Thread: Chris Thile Tuning

Default Chris Thile Tuning

Hey guys. So I'm very very new to mandolin playing. Chris Thile turned me on to it. I got myself a little left handed Stagg. I watched a video on how to tune it. Then I watched videos on Chris playing. Tried to duplicate some stuff, but it just doesn't seem right. I think the tuning may be different. Can anyone please tell me what tuning he has his mandolin in??? He plays live and never changes instruments, so I assume it's one solid set tuning. Help! Thanks!

Default Re: Chris Thile Tuning

Try GDAE, lowest (thickest) to highest.

As far as I know, he just turns the little knobs like everyone else...
    Sorry, bad joke, standard turnings generally apply,(bass side toward treble) GDAE
    Timothy F. Lewis
    "If brains was lard, that boy couldn't grease a very big skillet" J.D. Clampett

That's what I have it in...any other ideas?

Quote Originally Posted by Timbofood View Post
    As far as I know, he just turns the little knobs like everyone else...
    Sorry, bad joke, standard turnings generally apply,(bass side toward treble) GDAE

Blog Entries

I have no reason to believe it is not standard tuning.
    A talent for trivializin' the momentous and complicatin' the obvious.

The entire staff
    funny....

If you are playing left handed then the fattest string should be closest to your head. That one is tuned the lowest (g)

formerly Philphool Phil Goodson's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Ryan Smith View Post
    Well ...you're "very new to mandolin playing" and
    you can't make your mandolin sound like Chris Thile...... hmmmmm........

I think maybe mine is tuned wrong too!!!
    Phil

“Sharps/Flats” “Accidentals”

8. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Phil Goodson For This Useful Post: