Thread: Buzzing when fretting

Default Buzzing when fretting

Hi, I am new to the mandolin. I've been playing the violin/fiddle for a few years now and wanted a second instrument to play... I'm loving the mandolin and wished I started long ago.
    When I am fretting the strings, especially with my fourth finger and reaching, there is sometimes a buzz. I don't think it is the action or the set up of my mandolin because if I put enough pressure on the string there is no buzzing (and no buzzing on the open strings). Here's my question, Is it normal to have to press really hard when fretting? Or maybe it is the placement of my fingers in the fret? I've never had this problem with the violin and I've kept my fingers quite relaxed, then again there aren't any frets on the violin. Any tips would be appreciated. Thanks.

Default Re: Buzzing when fretting

Buzzing occurs when the string vibrates against a fret, so a fretless instrument like violin is generally buzz-free.

You do have to hold down mandolin strings fairly firmly; remember you're pressing two strings instead of one. The "pinky" (if that's what you mean by "fourth finger") has less strength than other fingers, and if you're stretching it to hit, say, sixth fret on the fourth course of strings, not too unusual to not fret the string(s) cleanly.

The height of the strings above the fretboard -- which we call "action" -- is adjustable on most mandolins, by lowering the bridge saddle, do if you're getting frequent buzzing when you fret, you can lower the action. Of course, if you lower it too far, then the strings may hit the frets due to insufficient clearance, and then you get buzzing again. Like most issues of this type, it's a matter of compromise.