Thread: Howdy Do!

Default Howdy Do!

Hello to all,
    After some time skulking in the shadows of this wonderful forum I've decided to step forward and be recognized. Pretty much brand new to mandolin, played bass and six-string for nearly half my life, and after helping my father sort through some old family stuff at his house I stumbled upon my grandmother's mando-banjo. Dad wanted to see if it would be worth anything, so I had my local luthier set it up. Turns out it's not worth much in a monetary sense but a fun conversation piece, I started playing around with it a month or two ago and could not seem to put it down.
    However the fretboard is quite worn and the frets buzz a good bit etc. so after consulting this forum I found a gently used Gretsch NYer on craigslist for very short money and I have been having an absolute blast with it.
    I don't know if anything will ever come from playing this thing and to be honest I don't care. All I know is that I'm happy when I play it. I do not feel overwhelmed by the vast world of mandolin and its myriad styles; I am excited and encouraged by it. I am treading slowly at the moment, taking advice from what I've read here on focusing on fundamentals of technique, and playing v e r y s l o w l y. Even the simple tunes I've learned give me tremendous joy to play and hear.
    I'll be chiming in more in the future to ask advice etc. but for now wanted to say I think I've found perhaps the greatest online resource I could ask for right here. Looking forward to getting to know you all!

Default Re: Howdy Do!

Welcome Harold. I am a beginner also, but I am a total music beginner. Never learned to read music or play anything. Now, in my old age, I am working on both!

I like playing the mandolin also. What beautiful sounds can come out of it. Enjoy the journey.

Harold, you are in for so much fun and frustration. Welcome to our wild, wacky world.

4. The following members say thank you to Denny Gies for this post: