Thread: First post: help! should I buy this mando??

Default First post: help! should I buy this mando??

Hi all,

On Friday I finally upgraded from the Rogue I've been playing for a couple years now to a Kentucky KM-140S that I found on Craigslist for $100. Today I found what I THINK is a better instrument for the same price:

http://gainesville.craigslist.org/msg/5153657265.html

The owner doesn't have a model number for it, and only identifies it as an 'Oscar Schmidt A-Style,' but it does look a lot like the M1SDLB (http://www.washburn.com/products/blu...in/M1SDLB.html) except for the headstock.

I'll happily re-sell my Kentucky (which I just cleaned and set up with new strings, so it sounds decent) and pick up this Washburn if it means a big step up in sound and overall quality. What do you guys think? Good call?

thanks!
    Vince
    Vinnie

Eastman MD-305C
    Kentucky KM-140S (sold)
    Rogue (sold)

Default Re: First post: help! should I buy this mando??

Update: I now realize that Oscar Schmidt is Washburn's economy brand and I'm looking at something totally different from the Washburn M1SDLB (as you can tell I'm new here ). But I'm still a little confused-- why is the OM12 (http://www.oscarschmidt.com/products/acoustics/om12.asp) so inexpensive if it's got a spruce top and mahogany sides? Is that just a manufacturer fib? My Kentucky has a spruce top but the sides and back are laminates.
    Vinnie

Eastman MD-305C
    Kentucky KM-140S (sold)
    Rogue (sold)

I can't imagine that would be anything but a sideways move, at best. In fact, the specs for the 140 say "carved top" vs the OS's "spruce top", which would indicate a machine carved top vs a pressed top. The 140 also is an ff hole, vs the Os's oval hole, which I would personally find preferable in an instrument in this price range. I started out on a $200 Washburn A (ff hole), and it was just fine for a 200 buck mando, but certainly not any better than any cheap Kentucky I've ever played.