Thread: Guitar player needs advice regarding stringing a mando

Default Guitar player needs advice regarding stringing a mando

As a guitar player, I always try to get about 3 string winds around the tuning peg when I restring. I'm new to the mando so I've been looking for guidance on how to restring. A few videos I've found show a technique where the string is pulled through the peg with tension and wrapped using a method that then leads to very few, if any, windings around the peg. Is that a common method for mandolin or did I just happen to find a couple of youtube videos that used the same method?

Default Re: Guitar player needs advice regarding stringing a mando

http://www.frets.com/FretsPages/Musi...dostring3.html
    great resource, in general. For me the one consideration is to bring the string to pitch before cutting the excess string.

I second the frets.com method, I use it and have never had any problems. However, to a certain degree it depends on the shape of the tuner post. Some older style posts are so tall and smoothly cylindrical with a high hole that the 'lock' doesn't work as well or look nice, and the additional wraps help ensure that the string is low enough to sit well in the nut.

I have a coworker who uses the 'lock' with no wraps whatsoever on guitars and I find it unstable and a little tacky-looking.

My self discovered trick, I pull the string with my right hand, the string goes up and Over my hand,
    by pulling , it keeps the string loop on the tailpiece hook,

while I poke it, the free end, thru the tuner hole ..
    you still can do the overwinding in the article linked to..

the detour up and over my hand results in at least 3 wraps around the tuner capstan

by the time the tension pulls the string in a straight line. (& I pull out my right hand)..
    writing about music
    is like dancing,
    about architecture

Gibson F5L Gibson A5L
    Blog Entries