Thread: Question about Eastman MD-404 sound

Default Question about Eastman MD-404 sound

Hi all,

I have been playing mandolin for a few months now, and I made my first visit to a music shop with a really excellent mandolin stock (Spruce Tree in Madison). I just checked with my doctor, and he has diagnosed me with MAS. Is this fatal?

Anyway, I played several really nice instruments both new and old, including what I thought would be the maker I'd most likely gravitate toward (Weber). To my surprise, the one that I liked the sound of the most was the Eastman 404. And it wasn't even a close race. This was the first time I'd ever played an oval hole mando, and I wonder if the sound quality I liked about it was due to that or something specific to the 404 (i.e. the mahogany back/sides etc). The only other oval hole they had was a Gibson F model, and I figured I'd better check on my liability insurance before I played that one.

I think the quality I like the most was a more "closed" feel to the sound -- as if it was located inside the body of the mando, instead of in front of it. It sounded very woody, and the sustain was much longer than I am used to. I wouldn't say it was quieter than the other A's I played, but it definitely had less attack.

So my question for anyone who has played both the 404 and some other oval holed models (or for someone who wants to try to interpret my description of its soud): is the 404 sound typical for an oval hole or something unique?

Default Re: Question about Eastman MD-404 sound