Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Electric Mandolin Tips and Tricks

Blog Entries

Default Electric Mandolin Tips and Tricks

I am an electric newbie.

I never played electric guitar growing up, and mandolin is the only stringed instrument I can play. I recently purchased a Fender MandoStrat 4 string, and now I have a "practice amp" to play with.

So one thing I notice is that most of the threads regarding emandos are discussing gear, instruments and/or gizmos.

Not many (that I can find) discussing playing the dern thing.

Not having played an electric instrument before there is a lot for me to learn.

Some observations:

Tremolo is flat out stupid. There is so much sustain for as long as I want it and longer, tremolo just muddies things up.

Hammer-ons are dicey depending on that darn reverb.

Pull-offs just don't work. I don't know why.

Double stops with care. That second string adds so much stuff to the sound it is a bigger transition. On acoustic I go back and forth between single note and double stops, on emando the difference is so huge that it sticks out. If need to be more tasteful about it.

Four finger chords are just way too much sound. (Or am I showing how old I am). Double stops and three finger chords do everything I need to do.

So are these electric newbie observations universal, or less than accomplished technique? What other pitfalls can I avoid?
    A talent for trivializin' the momentous and complicatin' the obvious.

The entire staff
    funny....

Default Re: Electric Mandolin Tips and Tricks

For me, it will be a trial & error type process. Strings, amps, size room you're in, a whole lot of things can require technique tweaking.
    I haven't been playing a straight electric long as well, but I surmise it isn't going to be as easy (sound wise) as standing in front of a condenser mic and letting your hand go play.
    Finesse and patience and will be required for me to feel good about it.
    http://www.hunt101.com/data/500/My_Stringies.JPG