Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: My New Duff

Default My New Duff

I have been playing a very nice BRW F5 for 3 years. I have gotten lots of positive comments on it and I have compared it against lots of the top mandolins out there and have never found another maker's that I liked better. My BRW is top of the line, Adi top, red maple sides and back with a varnish finish. Every camp that I went to, I would ask to borrow top of the line mandolins of other campers and teachers to see what it sounded like in my hands (as many of these players were curous to play my BRW, I was usually able to do so, plus mandolin players are just nice people). There is a big difference between the sound of how someone else plays a mandolin and how you sound on it, so I would not only play their mandolin, but I would carefully listen to the other player play mine and then play theirs. I had always been happily surprised that my own BRW held up in tone and volume against anything else that I had ever played. Until ...