Thread: Question Regarding Tablature

Default Question Regarding Tablature

I'm a guitarist but a couple of days ago my dad gifted me a mandolin. I love it already and I think my guitar is gonna collect some dust for a while. But I have a question regarding the tabs I find online. A traditional piece has no specific way of being played, right? I've found 'Whiskey in the Jar' in different keys. I've decided to stick with C because it's where I'm comfortable playing. The tabs online seems pretty basic so do I just kind of tamper with them to make it appealing to my ears or is there a specific way to play these traditional pieces/jigs/etc.? I'm mainly interested in Celtic music because my family has a lot of Irish and we're pretty proud of it. (I apologize to all of you who are actually full-blooded Irish LOL) BTW, I understand that if I was having a jam session with a band that we would all have to agree on a key.

Default Re: Question Regarding Tablature

Don't know about Celtic, but tradional fiddle tunes from Appalachain mountains can vary not only in keys, but in how A and B relate, in chord progression and even in melody. We used to say it just depends on which side of the ridge you were raised that determines how it's played.

3. The following members say thank you to Mandoplumb for this post:

That's very interesting! It makes sense. I think I'm gonna love this instrument due to its variation compared to covering guitar parts in a song. Thanks for clearing that up for me Mandoplumb.

Blog Entries