Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: violin strings question ?

Default violin strings question ?

Do synthetic gut strings sound warmer than steel strings on a violin.
    I am new to this and got steel strings, wonder if I should put synthetic gut strings instead.

Gibson F5L Gibson A5L
    Blog Entries

Default Re: violin strings question ?

Yes the synthetic string produces a warmer tone on the A D and G strings ...... the E is not a synthetic fiber string..... if you are having new to fiddle concerns check out http://FiddleHangout.com as fiddle issues are the prime topic of conversation .... squalling E strings on a fiddle are nothing new as can have technique as well as equipment fixes ... Luck ....R/
    PS .... A pick is not a bow .... keep saying that to yourself ....
    I love hanging out with mandolin nerds . . . . . Thanks peeps ...

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to UsuallyPickin For This Useful Post:

My mother used real gut strings but that was 4 decades ago. I think she got them from either Italy or Germany
    David Hopkins

2001 Gibson F-5L mandolin
    Breedlove Legacy FF mandolin; Breedlove Quartz FF mandolin
    Gibson F-4 mandolin (1916); Blevins f-style Octave mandolin, 2018
    McCormick Oval Sound Hole "Reinhardt" Mandolin
    McCormick Solid Body F-Style Electric Mandolin; Slingerland Songster Guitar (c. 1939)

The older I get, the less tolerant I am of political correctness, incompetence and stupidity.

The synthetics do have a warmer sound. I personally can't stand the sound of metal strings, they do have their place in some types of music. Dominants are the standard but Tonicas are also pretty good.
    Weber Bitteroot Custom
    Eastman 905D 2 point
    Scott Cao 850
    Taylor NS34CE
    "You have to go out on a limb, that is where the fruit is"