Thread: Jacksonville, fl mando players/teachers/luthiers!?

Default Jacksonville, fl mando players/teachers/luthiers!?

Hi cafe, I live in Jax bch, fl and I'm wondering if any of you live around here too? I've been recently obsessed with the mandolin, and no one to jam with or talk mandolins! Also wondering if there's any teachers/luthiers within a reasonable distance.. Thanks!

Ty

Default Re: Jacksonville, fl mando players/teachers/luthiers!?

Here is a link to NFBA. If you like bluegrass, it would be a good place to start. I started playing the mando in Jax 30 years ago this year, wow. Selah. Took beginner lessons from Mike Elin He still is listed as a teacher along with others I see.

GTison, thanks for the response and info! 30 years of playing mando!? Longer than I've been alive haha yea I love bluegrass, so I'll become a member.. I'm located at the beach, hit me up if you ever want to jam and talk mandos, I'll drive wherever

I'm pretty close, I live in St Augustine

There's some good mandolin teachers here in Tallahassee and a couple of good shops too. I offer custom builds and repair work and there's a bi-annual bluegrass festival in Thomasville, Ga that's usually a good time and worth the travel... just a couple of hours away.

Jason

sloanmandolins@facebook
    "Long time listener, first time caller"....

Cool Tom, we'll have to get up! I go to st. Aug once in awhile for shows... Thanks for reply