Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Overpriced mandolins ...

Default Overpriced mandolins ...

Christmas holiday and I made a trip to visit my brother in the Big City.

Brother took me down to a shop that specializes in guitars with a small selection of mandolins. There were several low priced Breedloves that reminded me of the $60 mandolin that I started playing mandolin with in 1976. Brother thought I should check out the two mandolins made by a local, famous luthier. One was priced at $8,000 and the other at $22,000.

I was reluctant at first, since I don't believe in getting MAS for something I cannot justify buying. But brother was persistent so I gave in and tried both.

Verdict? Totally UNDERwhelmed. Neither mandolin (both F shaped) projected as well as the 1979 Givens A that I bought in 1979 and have used ever since. In fact, the Givens would smack down both of those Fs in a bluegrass stomp.

I moved over and tried the only Collings in the shop, a MF that was listed for around $2,800. The Collings was definitely better than either of the overpriced Fs, but was still inferior to my Givens. I liked the radiused fretboard, but that was the only advantage the Collings would have over the Givens. In every other aspect (tone, projection, beauty, etc.), the Givens wins hands down.

What I have come to appreciate is that my 1979 mandolin is probably worth more than what I had assumed, although the irrational love that people have for those Butt Ugly Protuberances (F scrolls) would mean fewer buyers in the market for it. Never mind, it will never leave my hands.

The bigger question is: What gives with the overpricing of mandolins that are inferior in sound, but loaded with bling?
    "Those who know don't have the words to tell, and the ones with the words don't know so well." - Bruce Cockburn

mandolin slinger Steve Ostrander's Avatar

Default Re: Overpriced mandolins ...

I declare you cured of MAS! You are a lucky man.
    Living’ in the Mitten