Thread: Bluegrass mandolin method books

Default Bluegrass mandolin method books

I was hoping people could recommend a good mandolin bluegrass course/book ?

I'm a professional guitar player and have been playing and doubling on mandolin for a few years ... mostly musicals and some sessions but I've never dabbled in bluegrass .. my reading and chord knowledge on the mando are pretty good so I'm looking for more improv/vocabulary type things ... any recommendations ?

Registered User grassrootphilosopher's Avatar

Default Re: Bluegrass mandolin method books

Quote Originally Posted by gtrplyr1 View Post
    I was hoping people could recommend a good mandolin bluegrass course/book ?

I'm a professional guitar player and have been playing and doubling on mandolin for a few years ... mostly musicals and some sessions but I've never dabbled in bluegrass .. my reading and chord knowledge on the mando are pretty good so I'm looking for more improv/vocabulary type things ... any recommendations ?

Niles Hokkanen (mandocrucian on the café) has excellent information out: http://www.mandolin.myzen.co.uk/hokkanen.html

I cut my eyeteeth on "The Pentatonic Mandolin". This book is much more than what you read in the title. Itīs excellent instruction.
    Olaf

You might find my free PDF book on constructing and using double stops useful. At the website below.
    -----------
    Pete Martin
    www.PeteMartin.info
    Jazz and Bluegrass instruction books, videos, articles, transcriptions, improvisation, ergonomics, free recordings, private lessons

www.WoodAndStringsBand.com
    Jazz trio

www.AppleValleyWranglers.net
    Western Swing music

This came out last year or earlier this year, got a lot of good reviews.
    Mitch Russell

Quote Originally Posted by onassis View Post
    This came out last year or earlier this year, got a lot of good reviews.

Hi Guys, thanks for the replies. Went with Mitch's recommendation ... looks like what I need and I can get it quick.