Thread: The Circle of 5ths Part 1

Default The Circle of 5ths Part 1

Catching up on my tutorials this week. Here's Circle of 5ths: Part 1. Parts 2 and 3 will cover more complex chord progressions: ii-V-I, iii-Vi-ii-V-I and diatonic chordal movement in major and minor scales.

Enjoy and please comment, "like", suggest improvements and *Subscribe*.

Thanks y'all!

2. The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to zak borden For This Useful Post:

Default Re: The Circle of 5ths Part 1

Nice Zak, I have a circle of fifths wall clock in my music room and a friend and I once joked about a "I (heart) the (circle of fifths) bumper sticker".
    Looking forward to video's 2 and 3.
    Charley

A bunch of stuff with four strings

4. The following members say thank you to Charles E. for this post:

I only started learning the rudiments of music a half century ago as a cornet player in the primary school brass band, so I figure I can be forgiven for not yet having completely grasped the basics. This video has helped me, but perhaps not in a way you would have anticipated. I have always struggled to recall the relative minor of a key. I could always recall that Am is the relative minor of the key of C (I hope I got that right ), but for the other keys I'd be reduced to fingertip-walking my way up and down an imaginary stave. This video has helped me grasp (again, hopefully correctly), that the relative minor is the 'sixth' of that key. One tone up from the fifth. Lesson learned. Thanks!

Now, I'm going to have to walk my way around the fretboard to apply the rule of fifths and create a rudiments-based system to be able to calculate all the different elements of the diagram. I'm certain I'll never be able to 'visualise' the clock-like diagram, and I figure there has to be a better way of conjuring it up without carrying a printout with me everywhere.

6. The following members say thank you to Ron McMillan for this post: