Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Giving your work away...

Default Giving your work away...

Have any of you been tempted to give your work away in the hope it will lead to gain in the future? That's what I asked some of the top makers. The answers are in the last two posts over at TLB.

http://www.theluthierblog.com/articl...-guitars-away/
    http://www.theluthierblog.com/articl...-guitars-pt-2/

What's been your experience?

Nigel
    www.theluthierblog.com

I may be old but I'm ugly billhay4's Avatar

Default Re: Giving your work away...

I give all of my instruments away. I'm an amateur and will keep it that way. I've sold a few I didn't make, but that's another deal. My own are for friends and needy musicians. I make the decisions as to who falls into those categories, and I expect no rewards now or in the future.
    Bill
    IM(NS)HO

3. The following members say thank you to billhay4 for this post:

I have not given any instruments that I've built away. First of all, I haven't been approached by anyone universally well known as a top tier musician, the only players who might possibly be an advantage to a builder as "advertisers". I've have been approached by what amounts to second tier musicians, so called "side men", not "headliners", and I don't see how it could be to my advantage to give away instruments to them, though many of them seem to think they deserve to have instruments given to them.