Thread: A-50? Help with the year and worth please.

Default A-50? Help with the year and worth please.

Hi, new poster here.
    I recently picked up this old gal for a song, couldn't pass her up. Now I'm trying to figure out what I've got.
    11 1/8th" wide, 14 1/2" scale.
    I'm a working musician with an F-2 for my primary instrument, an A-3, both 1919, and other vintage Martin and Gibson instruments.
    There's a strange exterior cleat on the back, just below the neck heel. Fleur de lis on the peghead, and individual Nick Lucas type position markers.
    EG-5745 is the number stamped on the back of the peghead.
    I've got this mandolin pulled apart, cleaning her up. Tuners are sealed KLUSON DELUXE.
    Thanks much for any info you can give.
    Here's a couple of pics:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1109141707b.jpg 
Views:	231 
Size:	97.4 KB 
ID:	126267

Name:	IMG_3690.jpg 
Views:	223 
Size:	93.6 KB 
ID:	126268

Name:	IMG_3693.jpg 
Views:	246 
Size:	120.2 KB 
ID:	126266

Default Re: A-50? Help with the year and worth please.

well, it's a 1939 A something but need more of a full photo to get the model right.

1939 A-50 - that's the only A mandolin Gibson made in 1939 with that body size, fleur-de-lis & NL fingerboard inlays. The cleat is weird. Not sure why someone would put it on there.
    Visit www.fox-guitars.com - cool Gibson & Epiphone history and more. Vintage replacement mandolin pickguards

4. The following members say thank you to pfox14 for this post:

Here's a couple more pics...

Name:	1109141706.jpg 
Views:	190 
Size:	96.6 KB 
ID:	126272

Name:	1109141707a.jpg 
Views:	203 
Size:	78.9 KB 
ID:	126273

@pfox14, You know, come to think of it, I saw another similar mandolin at Elderlys a number of years ago with a similar exterior cleat. I can look inside of mine and there is no damage under that cleat, I have no idea of it's purpose.