Thread: Mando Death Grip!

Default Mando Death Grip!

Greetings all,

Just wondering if anyone has any advice or exercises for remedying my death grip issues. I'm still a newbie - playing less than a year and I can't find a way to ease up with the left hand - especially the louder I play.

If I pick extremely softly, the my fretting hand relaxes, speed and accuracy increase. The more I turn on the power and intensity with my picking hand, the more I seem to be trying to push the strings through the fretboard with my left. And this slows me down, and leads to mistakes - and hand cramps!

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

JL

Blog Entries

Default Re: Mando Death Grip!

You might enjoy reading this little thing I wrote called "How to Spend an Hour Playing 16 Notes."

http://www.bradleylaird.com/playthem...lesson-12.html

Also, are you sure your action is low enough to suit you? Nearly everyone I see who is starting out has their strings too high. That just adds to the difficulty. Check that...

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to bradlaird For This Useful Post:

I may be old but I'm ugly billhay4's Avatar

Play very softly and see if this doesn't prompt you to lighten up.
    Bill
    IM(NS)HO

5. The following members say thank you to billhay4 for this post:

Also, make sure you are not trying to support any of the mandolins weight with your left hand. All of the mandolins weight should be supported by some combination of your right arm/heel of the right hand, and perhaps a strap as well. This will leave the fingers of the left hand free to press the strings with just enough tension to get clean tone. The death grip can waste a set of frets in less than 1 year (yes I did my first fret job 9 months after purchasing my first mando). EVI Gold fret wire is great stuff, but you will outgrow the heavy grip in time.

Scott

Quote Originally Posted by Grommet View Post