Thread: Looking for a good upgrade

Question Looking for a good upgrade

Hi Folks,
    I started playing the OM about 4 years ago, and absolutely love playing this instrument. I currently have a Johnson 550 that I bought lightly used. In general I like the tonal quality of the instrument, which I would categorize as having a rich, non-twangy sound. I even had two people comment recently that they liked the sound of the instrument, but there are two issues 1) the instrument isn't very loud, and was drowned out completely during a recent contra dance performance. 2) the instrument itself is sharp, so to speak. The strings will be in tune when played open, but is sharp whenever I put any fingers down.

At this point, I can imagine playing the OM for the long term, and so I'm willing to invest in a good quality instrument. I've looked at Weber instruments, and they seem very nice, but it looks like it would be somewhere in the ballpark of $6,000. I was looking on the builders section on this website, and there seems to be about 400 builders listed, not all of whom build OMs.

And so I was wondering if anyone would have any suggestions on any luthiers I should consider? Also, any suggestions on price range, features, or other considerations would be welcomed.

Thanks,
    Brian

Default Re: Looking for a good upgrade

Brian,

The sharpness problem is likely due to the bridge being too close to the fingerboard (assuming it is adjustable) and is an easy fix. You can slacken the strings and move the bridge back a mm or two and check the intonation. I check mine at the 7th and 12th frets, true notes (fretted) and harmonics on all strings. Tough to get perfect on all strings, but you should be able to get close assuming the instrument was fretted to a correct scale and the bridge is properly compensated for the string gauges being used.