Thread: Eastman MD 315 vs Eastman MD 515

Default Eastman MD 315 vs Eastman MD 515

Newbie here. Anyone with an opinion whether the 515 is worth the $300 difference? "A great new model from Eastman! Similar to the 515 but with a matte finish, stamped tailpiece, and less expensive tuners. It sounds and plays amazing! All-solid construction. Sitka Spruce top, flamed Maple back and sides, Mahogany neck, ebony radiused fingerboard, top bound, comes with a gig bag."

Default Re: Eastman MD 315 vs Eastman MD 515

Not to me.

Then again, I didnt think the 315 was worth the extra $ over the 305.

All that matters is whether its worth it to you.
    No matter where I go, there I am...Unless I'm running a little late.

The only thing is, if you're going to get a 315 (or 305 even) and upgrade the tuners, tailpiece, and bridge, then go ahead and get the 515 (though even then many ppl upgrade the bridge to a CA, et al).

I think the 305/315 sound great explicitly because they have an extremely thin finish- it almost looks like more of a 'stain' to me, but I am by no means an expert on that stuff. A lot of Asian-made mandolins suffer from a thick finish.

I have and love a 515. But I've heard that the sound quality of Eastmans in particular don't necessarily correlate with the model number. That is, some 315s sound better than 515s, and even better than some 815s, etc. If possible, play a couple and choose the one that sounds best to you.

Would definitely agree with Jordan here. I play a 315, and have a 505. Big time difference in the amount of finish. The 315 seems to open up a bit more, and a lot quicker, at that.

I would definitely attribute that to the thin finish, which I often prefer on my acoustic instruments. The 505 seems a lot thinner. I feel I really lucked out with my 315. It sounds and plays like a dream.