Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Table saw

Default Table saw

I am still getting into the building arena, so acquiring tools as I go. My friend has offered me his table saw. What uses have you gotten out of the table saw??

Thanks for your help!

Default Re: Table saw

I use one to cut fret slots & truss rod slots.

3. The following members say thank you to Joe Mendel for this post:

I use my table saw for all sorts of things, including fret slots and truss rod slots. I start with rough lumber for a lot of things so I use my table saw to dimension stock for tops, necks, backs, sides, etc.. It's one of my most used power tools. It comes in handy for other projects besides instrument building too.

5. The following members say thank you to sunburst for this post:

Plus one on everything John said. For years, I had an old Rockwell contractor's saw that I upgraded with cast iron extension wings and a Biesmeyer fence. It was fine, and I used it a lot. But a few years ago, I treated mysef to a new Powermatic PM2000. I am told it is not quite as nice as the old Powermatic 66, but it seems really nice to me, and I probably use it even more than I did my previous saw. Even made me less ornery, for about a week.

http://www.Cohenmando.com/

7. The following members say thank you to Dave Cohen for this post:

Awesome. Thank you for the responses. Will put it to much good use

Dave mentioned his Powermatic saw and it reminded me; he's right about a good saw being a big advantage. Mine's an old, cast iron Rockwell Unisaw with a (newer) Unifence. Having a solid, accurate saw with a solid, accurate fence makes a big difference. Use good blades too, BTW.
    I don't know what saw you've been offered, and it's hard to imagine that it would be worth refusing as a gift, but if it is a flimsy, cheap, underpowered saw with a poor, inaccurate fence, it can be a source of frustration and danger.