Thread: Jig picking pattern DUD DUD vs. DUD UDU

Question Jig picking pattern DUD DUD vs. DUD UDU

Hi! I am new to playing mandolin and am trying to build good habits so I don't have to break bad habits later. I could have sworn that I read somewhere in these forums (but can't find it now) that when playing jigs it is better to have a DUD DUD picking pattern instead of a DUD UDU pattern for the eighth notes in one measure. What I have read elsewhere (non-Irish music beginner books) seems to indicate the latter, but for Irish music it kind of makes sense to get the feel of the groupings of three notes to use the former.

Is there anyone who can help me on this? Thanks in advance.
    I am always doing that which I cannot do,
    in order that I may learn how to do it.

- Pablo Picasso

Default Re: Jig picking pattern DUD DUD vs. DUD UDU

It's one of those things which is purely a matter of opinion Astabeth. Some professional player/teachers are proponents of DUD DUD, and some go for DUD UDU, I would say the more modern trend is DUD DUD. My advice is to listen to a lot of jigs until you get a feel for the rhythm, "Rashers and Sausages, Rashers and Sausages,with an emphasis on the 1st and 4th beat ONE, two, three, FOUR, five, six ...So it goes. Be advised that when you start playing jigs, the DUD DUD pattern can be a bit of a task to manage, but will give you a fairly rigid Jig "feel"......whereas DUD UDU, or continuous alternative up down motion of the pick will not give that "feel" unless you are able to make the upstroke on beat 4 as strong as a downstroke, but is more flexible, initially anyway.

3. The following members say thank you to Francis J for this post:

5. The following members say thank you to Francis J for this post:

Mandolin Botherer Shelagh Moore's Avatar

I use both without really thinking about it, according to the dynamics of the tune.