Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Two Finger vs Closed Chords

Default Two Finger vs Closed Chords

I'm just starting out and going through a book that is good so far called "Mandolin Primer" by Bert Casey.

In this book he starts out right into the 4 finger G chord which I must say is not easy at all.

But a lot of other books I see show two finger chords. I've ordered Erbsen's book for example and he teaches the two finger chords.

My question is which do you suggest to start with and why? Could one only play two finger chords and actually play music with others or would that not be considered acceptable?

I've read that the mandolin 'chop' is some how associated with the harder chords. Is that accurate? Can you not do the mandolin chop just fine with the two finger chords?

Thanks

AcousticBuckeye

Default Re: Two Finger vs Closed Chords

Imo, a chop is more of a sound than a shape. Yes, the full-fingered 7-5-2-3 shape is often called a chop chord. But you can chop with 2-finger chords just fine. Just gotta do the mute thing (I get that with fingers 3 and 4 of the left hand, or just hitting the 2 strings being fretted).

3. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to AlanN For This Useful Post:

I may be old but I'm ugly billhay4's Avatar

Two finger chords are just fine for playing with others, and are preferred in some forms of music.
    The chop is a four finger method primarily. It consists of striking the strings and quickly taking the pressure off. Produces a percussive sound that is used in playing rhythm backing up others. Very prevalent in bluegrass music.
    I'd start with two finger chords and learn good rhythm and timing. You'll want to move on to more complicated chords naturally when you get that under control.
    Have fun.
    Bill
    IM(NS)HO

5. The following members say thank you to billhay4 for this post:

Blog Entries