Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need some pick advice

Default Need some pick advice

So I've been playing mandolin for about 2 months now and up until last week, I've been using just a standard .88mm guitar pick that came with my instrument. I finally decided to "upgrade" to a flat pick and settled on Mr. Grisman's Dawg picks. They got in a couple days ago and I was really excited to play with what I considered a real pick, but I soon became pretty disappointed with the sound. Compared to the regular guitar pick, the Dawg pick makes the instrument sound almost muted and a lot more mellow. It doesn't have that sharpness to it that I've come to love about the mandolin. Now, I don't know if I'm just not talented enough yet to use one of these picks or if that's just they way they always sound, but I'm now unfortunately on the market for another pick. I can't afford a blue chip or anything close to that actually, and I'm afraid of buying another flat pick in case it sounds the same even though I love the feel in my hand of a flat pick much more than that triangular guitar pick. I guess I should also mention that I play bluegrass mandolin. So, do you guys have any good suggestions for a cheaper mando pick? My ideal pick would be one that's shaped and feels like a flat pick but sounds like a thinner guitar pick. I don't know if that even exists, but I'd appreciate any advice. Thanks in advance.

Default Re: Need some pick advice

I can't afford a blue chip or anything close to that actually
    I don't mean to sound insensitive, but is it that you really can't afford $35 for a pick, or that you just think it's too much to spend for a pick? If you really can't afford it, then what can you afford? What's your budget for a pick? The recommendations will all hinge on that.