Thread: Searching for the Sound ...

Searching for the Sound

Default Searching for the Sound ...

I saw Bill Frisell the other night (jazz guitar)... yes, it's not mandolin, but he has a very distinctive sound that I've appreciated for a long time. Got me thinking that many notable electric guitarists have their own, identifiable sound, which I assume comes from the guitar and all the effects gear: Frisell is constantly fiddling with his gear, which his fans accept and perhaps might find endearing.

So, the question is ... do you electric mandolinists have a 'sound'? Are you still searching? As a beginner, I'm simply trying not to sound awful, but thought it would be interesting to hear how you all go about 'finding a sound'....
    - 2013 Eastman MD 505
    - 2013 Fender MandoStrat
    - 2021 Eastman MD815

Default Re: Searching for the Sound ...

First and foremost is knowing what you want to sound like. Then find the gear and more importantly playing technique that delivers that sound.
    -----------
    Pete Martin
    www.PeteMartin.info
    Jazz and Bluegrass instruction books, videos, articles, transcriptions, improvisation, ergonomics, free recordings, private lessons

www.WoodAndStringsBand.com
    Jazz trio

www.AppleValleyWranglers.net
    Western Swing music

Searching for the Sound

not so much worried about ME getting a sound ... interested in the process of others, and what you've arrived at.... but thanks.....
    - 2013 Eastman MD 505
    - 2013 Fender MandoStrat
    - 2021 Eastman MD815

Blog Entries

I would like to sound as far away from sucky as possible.
    A talent for trivializin' the momentous and complicatin' the obvious.

The entire staff
    funny....

5. The following members say thank you to JeffD for this post:

poor excuse for anything Charlieshafer's Avatar