Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What do you practice when you practice bluegrass?

Default What do you practice when you practice bluegrass?

Okay, so I know how to practice classical music. I have a sheet of music, and I've got the goal of interpreting it beautiful with no mistakes, and to that end I have all kinds of strategies: focusing on the difficult spots and giving them more attention, playing it through several times to build up stamina, etc etc. I have a lot of experience with that.

I don't know how to practice bluegrass. I could use my classical music techniques to learn a fiddle tune or a break note-for-note, or my composition skills to write a break and learn it that way, but I don't want to do that- I want to improvise over tunes and melodies and have a certain flexibility when I'm playing in the moment. That is a pretty vague goal compared to, say, playing a sonata or something. For example, lately I've been taking Blackberry Blossom and trying to get it really cold and clean. But, because it's bluegrass, I have various variations I play on it in different octaves, but it doesn't really feel like 'practice' if I'm playing it differently every time. Is a hard part even a 'hard part' if, theoretically, you can just substitute some easier little variation that serves a similar melodic function?

I'm getting along okay, sort of making up a practice method as I go (I've also worked through some books like the "Mandolin Picker's Guide to Improvisation"), but how do good, serious players approach bluegrass practice? Is this something where everybody just has to arrive at their own approach? I guess this question could apply to almost any improvisational music. Do you just play over material tune ten times, accepting the fact that some will be better than others and hoping for the best?

Blog Entries

Default Re: What do you practice when you practice bluegrass?