Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New Jersey songs?

Default New Jersey songs?

For my next music project, I'm trying to put together a collection of songs from and about my home state. I figure between Jersey's role in the American Revolution, the Industrial Revolution and all the canals, railroads, fishermen and all that, there's got to be something.
    Anyway, I'm turning to every source I can think of looking for leads. I'm primarily looking for traditional public-domain stuff (ie, before Bruce Springsteen) and have turned up some info in Classical music (America's first credited composer signed the Declaration of Independence for NJ) and possibly some fishermen's songs, but I'm just getting started.
    If anybody knows of any songs or tunes that might fit the bill, I'd appreciate it.
    If I call my guitar my "axe," does that mean my mandolin is my hatchet?

Breedlove Quartz KF
    Kit Built Oval Hole
    Martin 000M
    Highland Harp

https://store.cdbaby.com/cd/mattdeblass2

Feed My Ego, Visit My Youtube Page

Default Re: New Jersey songs?

I Like Jersey Best, sung by John Pizzarelli
    Jersey Bounce, a jazz number

Professional Dreamer journeybear's Avatar
    Northeastern South Carolina, west of North Carolina
    Blog Entries

It will be a long uphill climb, but try "Garden State Stomp" by Dave Van Ronk. It is a list of city and town names set to a ragtime/circle of fifths type progression. Not much melody, though; it's all about the lyrics, and their delivery. And "Jersey Bounce" is a really snazzy number.

But that's just my opinion. I could be wrong. - Dennis Miller

Furthering Mandolin Consciousness

Finders Keepers, my duo with the astoundingly talented and versatile Patti Rothberg. Our EP is finally done, and available! PM me, while they last!

The Trial of Bruno Hauptmann

John Gorka's "I'm from New Jersey". I live here, it's ok for me to play it.

The only bluegrass song ever written for New Jersey:

Don Corleone's Breakdown