Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Stringing a Mandolin in Fourths

Default Stringing a Mandolin in Fourths

Dear Pickers,
    New member here and I've got a possibly unique question for you. I'm a professional bassist down in here in Austin and have gotten some gigs lately where I've needed to double on mandolin. I've squeaked by but have also been bitten by the mando bug...I'd like to learn to play it well. So, has anyone ever heard of stringing a mandolin so that you can play it in fourths, like my bass and my guitar are tuned? I imagine that once you had an idea of which gage of string would work you could improvise using guitar strings as mandolin strings, bazouki, lute...any ideas would be very welcome and gratefully received.
    Thanks,
    BlueSean

mandolin slinger Steve Ostrander's Avatar

Default Re: Stringing a Mandolin in Fourths

You would have to transpose all mandolin tabs and figure out your own chord charts. Sounds like a lot of hassle to me. Why not just learn to play it as strung in fifths? I played gtr and bass before mando and it really wasn't that difficult to crossover to mando.

the merits of 5th tuning is having so much shorter scale you have a 2 octave range with out shifting up the neck.

it just lays in your hand right .

and [if you read standard notation] you can borrow scores from the Violin section to play.
    writing about music
    is like dancing,
    about architecture

Studio guitar ace Tommy Tedesco used a guitar tuning (EBGD) for mandolin with the string gauges .009, .012, .017 and .024. I think you could do .11,.13,.18 and .24 for a slightly thicker sound.
    Here's a page from Tedesco's book where he shows his tunings.

However, it's much easier to finger the mandolin in mandolin tuning. Also, the chords in mandolin tuning sound great and the low G string is necessary for the percussive flavor of the mandolin sound............I'm sure you will eventually want to learn mandolin tuning