Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Speed vs. volume?

Default Speed vs. volume?

I've been playing mandolin for about eight months and am working on breaks and general picking. I was recently told that I need to play louder in order to be heard at jams so I've been practicing that.

As I work at increasing volume, I've been noticing that: 1) the muscles in my right hand are more tense because I have to hold the pick more firmly, and; 2) I can't pick as fast because my "recovery time" after striking a string is longer.

My question: is this something that goes away with time and practice? Or does playing louder always mean that you'll sacrifice a little bit of speed and muscle relaxation, even for the best players?

Thanks for any thoughts.

Default Re: Speed vs. volume?

Mike Marshall states in one of his DVD's that the faster he plays, the softer he plays. The smoothness and fine coordination needed in the right hand when playing cleanly at high speed seem to naturally limit volume. IMHO.
    Mitch Russell

It is true that faster playing comes with a softer attack, or put another way, if youplay softer you can play faster. It's kind of like super light strings on an electric guitar means you can play really quick. However, on electric instruments volume is not an issue. The other cruel truth is that the higher the action, the more tone (and to some extent volume) you will have. So, what I do is go for light strings, not too low an action and a nice flexible plectrum. But, you are right, all these things do become easier with practice. The biggest trap to fall into is the "everlasting plectrum quest". Find somthing that could work and stick with it. I have seen too many players who never really settle because they are forever changing picks. Well, that's my humble opinion anyway. Cheers, Mark Shiner.