Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: CGDAEG "New Standard Tuning"

Blog Entries

Default CGDAEG "New Standard Tuning"

1977 Zeidler, his first electric solid body.

Tuning CGDAEG, so extended OM/ extended mandocello/ Robert Fripp's "New Standard Tuning". I had this as a 5 string for awhile, but read about adding the high G (.008), tried it and liked it.

I asked for the mandolin scroll (years before i started playing mando) for the coolness factor. Walnut body. Humbuckers w/ coil splitters. Great fun exploring this and trying to forget guitar tuning!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	zeidlercbomelec.jpg 
Views:	634 
Size:	64.4 KB 
ID:	36546  

Blog Entries

Default Re: CGDAEG "New Standard Tuning"

Cool! Love to see a video of what you create with that tuning!!

John, if you don't mind, what is the scale length and string guages you are using?
    http://www.youtube.com/user/tenorbanjoguy

"Gettin' by" with the imports!

Blog Entries

Scale is long (Fender), I don't have the precise measurement but around 25.5 ish; .008/.010/.017/.026/.042/.052. Next restringing I may up the C to .054 as it's a wee bit floppy and you have to be very careful not to bend it sharp. It's quite a sound and anyone who plays the CBOM family would have a blast with it- the single strings help the fact that it is "stretchy", and a Gibson scale might help on that front- but I like the more sparkly tone from the longer scale.

John:

What a remarkably cool and beautiful instrument by a supremely talented (and missed) luthier. You made my Turkey-day with this one. Can only imagine what a joy it is to play.

So John, what do you do in your spare time?
    Steve

tension loading more or less than a medium guitar set? It's got 11/14/22w/30w/38w/50w, on it now.

Thinking about the flat top that spends a lot of time in the case under the bed..
    writing about music
    is like dancing,
    about architecture