Thread: Tips for a beginner

Hi all. I have been singing & playing the guitar for many years & am relatively new to the magical world of the mandolin. I recently purchased the TENNESSEE MANDOLINE F2 F-HOLE on Thomann only to find that when I received it I had to get the action adjusted and a new adjustable bridge fitted along with a pick-up. It ended up that the work cost me almost as much as the instrument! Now I find that when I fret certain chords that the tuning seems to be slightly off as you go up the neck, even though when I test the open notes with the octave harmonic they have the same pitch! Any ideas?

P.S. I find it easiest (and cheapest ;-) ) to study on my own as I taught myself the guitar and already know the basics such as the rudimentary chord shapes, fingerpick technique & playing position. However, I would appreciate if anyone could point out steady & slow lessons that may be available so I can begin making progress to the next level. Even some simple tunes that demonstrate what a beginner like me should be aspiring to play like would help.

Many thanx in advance!

If your 12th fret intonation is on but other intonation is out the first thing I'd check is the nut. If the slots are not deep enough the mandolin will fret sharp up around the first 5-7 frets. Go to FRETS.com and peruse the setup information under "Of Interest to Players."
    "I thought I knew a lot about music. Then you start digging and the deeper you go, the more there is."~John Mellencamp

"Theory only seems like rocket science when you don't know it. Once you understand it, it's more like plumbing!"~John McGann

"IT'S T-R-E-M-O-L-O, dangit!!"~Me

Make sure you test intonation with a tuner. Our ears can't be trusted to discern minute variation in pitch.
    "I thought I knew a lot about music. Then you start digging and the deeper you go, the more there is."~John Mellencamp