Thread: Acrylic resin mandolin construction

I am interested if anyone has ever experimented making an instrument with the type of acrylic that dentures are made of. This is not a wind up or joke but I am a dental technician and feel that some high impact resins could give high strength and good sound qualities to a mandolin, similar to carbon fiber and Kevlar. All I need is a patern to go to, and I will give it a go using plaster as a mould. If anyone would like to suggest a design I will make a patern. The end result will be pink with possibly an ebony fret board Not sure? Any suggestions welcome. Reards Nigel

Different strokes, I suppose. I say go for it!
    __
    Never attribute to malice that which can be adequately explained by stupidity
    -- Hanlon's Razor

Prescott, AZ

Hi telemark Im going to go for it! but I know nothing about the basic design of mandolins?. I have lots of stuff in my head 90% of which is absolutly useless and 10% is pure genius

Thats one we could sink our teeth into. I have been working on a mando for 12 years, that is 98% acrylic.
    All except tuners, strings, frets and tailpiece. All clear so you can see thru it. That will be a trip

Unrepentant Dilettante Lee Callicutt's Avatar

Having been a dental technician for some years myself in the past, I would say it is well within the realm of possibility, depending of course upon the cost/benefit analysis of monomer/polymer vs. wood, carbon fiber, etc. I would think a stress to failure test would be in order before you put too much work into a finished product, and then of course the quality of the sound would be fortuitous at best. Polymer can be any color you like?

Maccafferi experimented with resin bodied instruments in the '50s, flat-top guitars, ukes, arch-top guitars. Think: Bowling Ball styrene. I have one of the arch-top guitars. It's an interesting, innovative piece of history, but its acoustic properties are probably best suited to Delta Blues.