Thread: Set list

Not sure the best place on the board to put this, but I wondered if any of you have advice on the organization of set lists - I'm doing a solo show in a few weeks, which I've never done before. The main problem I'm having when coming up with the set list is that my style and taste runs to more mellow songs - I'm worried a little bit about boring the audience with too much slow stuff.

Any suggestions on how to keep it lively when the music isn't fast?

Thanks.

OK, assuming that you either can't or don't want to add any songs that are more lively to the repertoire, then the two best ways -- in my not so humble opinion -- to keep the audience's attention are as follows:

1) Have some stories to tell about some of the songs. #Tell them who wrote it, or why the author wrote it, or the story behind it if it tells one, or ...

2) Have some humorous songs in the mix, i.e. give 'em somethin' to laugh at.

If the songs all sound alike, you don't have any stories and nothing is funny, then I agree with you ... I think it's gonna be pretty boring.

Don Smith

Thanks for the forthright response - I probably didn't give enough information, but your suggestions are good ones. Back when I was playing country music in clubs (late 80's early 90's) the goal was to keep people dancing. The general rule of thumb we had was 2 fast songs for every slow one. I think, looking at my list that my ratio is 1:1 or 2:1 the other way. Hopefully since it's a sit down venue that will be ok. But, yeah, I'm working on some more upbeat stuff to add to the mix.

Thanks again