Thread: Every mandolin i play buzzes

Trying to figure out why the instruments I play have a buzz on the G string. I've noticed [and this is so opposite of playing a guitar] that I can get rid of the g string buzz if I put my finger on top of the fret [on the g string].

So sat down tonight to figure out what / where the buzz is: I put the mando flat in my lap, pressed the strings down with my left thumb , pushing straight now, and picked each note -- one by one-- all the way up and down, and wow-- no buzz. So I'm thinking that my guitar technique on the mando must be the cause.

I'm a self taught mando player [I play violin / fiddle, and guitar, so mandolin was just a natural addition in college].

Do most people play on the frets or is it just me?
    Sheryl --- Me

you likely need more precision on fretting a mandolin than a guitar. probably due to the string tension.
    www.bigdrawbluegrass.com

Voight A-5
    Bayard GBOM

It could be that the instrument is not set up for the way you play. Some people can play really low actions and not make them buzz. Other people play in such a way that they need a little more clearance. First, experiment with a lighter grip on the pick. Let the pick pivot up and down as you pick down and up. And try to play a little lighter in general. Also make sure you are always fretting cleanly, right behind the fret. If that doesn't work, see a good mando luthier. You proabably need the nut, neck and bridge adjusted for a higher action. Heavier strings can help with buzzing also.