Thread: O/m and cittern - observations & questions

Hi to you all! First a little about myself, etc.. then the questions/observations. I started playing mandolin almost 2 years ago (never played a stringed instrument till then). I play mostly celtic /old time/ traditional music. I'm all about playing the melody... chording is my least favorite thing to do. My favorite mandolin type is the a body, with the oval/d hole. Right now, I'm playing a Weber Y2K, with a Weber Bridger A on the way. I also have a sweet vintage 1955 Martin A. I'm 53, female, of average height / weight, etc. I've also got a Petersen O/M and a Petersen mandola. My instructor has Petersen Cittern, with the shorter 22.5 inch scale (same as the O/M). The cittern is tuned CGDAE, the O/M tuned GDAE, the mandola CGDA. I want to start playing the O/M more... I just recently picked up my friend's cittern, and LOVE it... you'd think that since the cittern & O/M have the same maker and scale, that they'd play comparatively. I've noticed that one problem I have playing the O/M is that my little pinky tends to go between the pairs of strings on the G & D strings. The pairs on the cittern are closer, and I don't have the problem on that one. Bill Petersen said that he'd started making them with the strings slightly farther apart, to prevent buzzing for the more aggressive players, but he said he can put me a new nut on, with the strings slightly closer together, pretty easily, so as soon as the weather gets decent enough for travel here in the midwest, I think we're gonna take a day trip and get that done. So, I'm still mostly interested in playing the melody, even on the bigger instruments. Flat picking. How many of you CBOM players play the melody? What tunings do you use, especially on the 5 course citterns? The low string (tuned as C) on the short scale cittern, is hard to tune, hard to stay in tune, and buzzes a lot. So, for now, it's mostly there for decoration, at least with me playing it. Does anyone h