Thread: Eva Scow

Blog Entries

This is interesting. I'm a fan of jazz guitarist Anthony Wilson. He has a new CD out and California mandolinist Eva Scow makes an appearance on a cut. Haven't heard this recording yet but it sounds like a good enough excuse to get out and find it since I have a couple of days off. Scow is fairly well known in Brazilian circles and appears on the latest Tone Poets compilation from Acoustic Disc. Wilson is currently (to my knowledge) still the guitarist for vocalist Diana Krall who also makes a guest appearance on the CD. Congrats to Eva. Bright future ahead of that girl.

They must have met at the Mandolin Symposium....Eva has been there the past few years and 2 years ago,
    when John Monteleone was teaching luthiery, Anthony showed up. He plays a beautiful Monty Archtop &
    was driving John to LA after the Symposium. At the last night jam I recall Anthony on stage with Grisman
    playing a cool duet. Eva is a Mike Marshall discovery, this young lady is a Choro phenom. In fact she
    can also be heard on Acoustic Disc's Tone Poets.

Eva, IMHO based on the little i've heard of her, is one of the very very few non native players that really get the choro. And she's cute.

Mandolins:
    Mid-mo M11 (#1855)
    Ovation MM68 (#490231)
    New flute CD:
    Wellsprings 2: Joyful!