Thread: What finish?

Default What finish?

Any advice for what finish to go with for a mandolin with natural sides and back? I’m having a mandolin built that will look similar to this one except it will be quilted sides and back. My builder said there are many options he can do two of which are waterbased lacquer or waterbased varnish. I’ve never had a mando built before so I’m new to this. Thanks!!Click image for larger version. 

Name:	921BD3C8-13A2-4C72-8EC7-970544887BF4.jpeg 
Views:	235 
Size:	350.9 KB 
ID:	171896
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3A3E4CAB-93C5-44E0-A37A-E364DD0BC809.png 
Views:	294 
Size:	4.86 MB 
ID:	171895  
    Hinde MF #40

Teacher, repair person

Default Re: What finish?

French polished shellac, possibly over a couple of coats of violin varnish, can be very nice, though a little delicate.

Lynn Dudenbostel swears by Pratt and Lambert "38" varnish, which he believes is quite similar to what Gibson used in the early '20's.

And then, there is always good old nitrocellulose lacquer.

Depending on what you settle on, you might want to add just a tiny bit of tint to give the finish a little more warmth and bring out the figure in the wood.

3. The following members say thank you to rcc56 for this post:

That picture looks like amber to me. I just finished my mandolin with the back and sides amber, and the top clear. Used Royal Lac which is a more durable shellac. Time will tell.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	F style complete side.jpg 
Views:	197 
Size:	1.19 MB 
ID:	171915

Pic went from vertical to horizontal. Anyone know why?
    Silverangel A
    Arches F style kit
    1913 Gibson A-1

5. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Br1ck For This Useful Post: