Thread: First Post ... Newbie on the Road

Question First Post ... Newbie on the Road

Hi all. This is my first post, so for starters, thanks for hosting this great forum. I have no playing experience. It’s just been something I’ve wanted to pick up for a long time and I’d dropped a few hints along the way. That resulted in my dad getting me a new Eastman MD350 this week as a sort of late retirement gift. What a guy!

I checked out my local community for lessons and found someone. He’s Greek and specializes in bouzouki, but he’s an expert in many other strings, including mandolin. Here’s my question for the board: I often work out of state and I’m heading out of town on Monday for a month. I won’t even have a chance to meet or speak with my potential instructor until I get back in November. But, I can bring my mandolin and I’ll have time to play with it. What can/should I do to start my learning journey? I literally have no music playing experience since trombone in middle school, but I’m eager to start learning. I was thinking I could start learning simple stuff like notes, scales or whatever. All I’ve done so far is watch a few YouTube videos on things like how to hold the instrument and stuff (MandoLessons channel).

Thanks for the feedback and suggestions!

Default Re: First Post ... Newbie on the Road

Congratulations! Welcome to Cafe!

This should be a wonderful journey & experience for you!

You might think of purchasing a few books, to take with you
    Maybe one that covers some of the theory, scales and such
    Then maybe another one of chord shapes

Get a good tuner like a Snark ST-8, a string winder
    Get some new strings
    Get instructions on changing strings, if you will do it yourself
    Be careful on bridge position. You can change strings a pair at a time so the others hold bridge in place until you learn placement later

Good luck and enjoy!
    , Reid
    2011 Black A5 (#9) Mandolin
    1952 Gibson A-40N Mandolin