Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: creating a tailpiece.

Default creating a tailpiece.

Hello, I'm new to mandolins, but I've been a blacksmith for quite some time now. I recently got a used Eastman MD315 mandolin, and it has a stamped tailpiece. I know that a cast tailpiece is generally always better than a stamp tailpiece. What about a forged tailpiece? Obviously the more intricate parts would need to be removed with a file and such, but would it be bad to forge the general shape? Would the stressed in the metal from the forging be bad or cause a different tone? Also should I use copper or steel or brass or something else?
    Just me and my Eastman MD315!
    And we're hungry to learn

2. The following members say thank you to ImTheMan_do for this post:

Default Re: creating a tailpiece.

Go for it. I've made tailpieces out of brass, steel, carbon fiber, and various woods. Go for it, you won't notice a change in tone unless there was something wrong (broken) about your previous tailpiece.
    Forge away... just don't copy an existing design, which would be... forgery.. :-\

4. The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to Marty Jacobson For This Useful Post:

haha okay! Then I shall.

Forging would probably be a good way to make a tailpiece: hot metal bends with less fatigue and work-hardening than cold metal, so tailpiece failure may be less than with stamped tailpieces.
    Weight is a concern, at least for some of us, so keeping bulk down without sacrificing strength is worthwhile, though it doesn't make things easier.
    Brass and bronze are probably better material choices than steel because of corrosion and finishing, though plating can minimize corrosion, but steel must be well prepared and copper flashed for good quality plating.

In my experience, developing an attractive, functional tailpiece can be a difficult and time consuming project. Good luck and have fun!

7. The following members say thank you to sunburst for this post: