Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Arm rest a good aid for begginers?

Default Arm rest a good aid for begginers?

I have read quite a few posts regarding arm rests helping in arm position.
    Any thoughts as to if it would be benificial for a beginner , eg aiding in picking hand position. Any thoughts?

Default Re: Arm rest a good aid for begginers?

You are going to get different opinions for and against. As for me I have a McClung armrest on my Yellowstone and I find it helps me with my picking.

3. The following members say thank you to George R. Lane for this post:

I’m a beginner and I like my (McClung) arm rest. I don’t know if it helps my picking, but it’s comfortable. I suppose it also keeps my sweaty grimy arm off the shiny finish of my Eastman.

I sure like mine. But others don't. I think it just depends on your anatomy. The thickness of your forearm, the length of your fingers, the slope of your shoulders.

For me, it helps keep my wrist straighter and is more comfortable on my forearm.

I think anatomical variations may also influence whether or not you like finger rests (pick guard). Many like them(I do), but just as many dont. Just depends on how you're put together... whether you flail your fingertips or keep them curved or need a reference point or what not.

These things everyone must try for themselves. No use getting opinions on. You like boxers or jockeys? Might even depend on your instrument and how much bouncing around is going on when your playing...but thats a different subject. Are we still talking mandolins?
    No matter where I go, there I am...Unless I'm running a little late.

6. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Astro For This Useful Post:

My answer would be no. I would try and learn correct posture and technique first. For many years. Then you can try any supplemental aids. Aids are fine if they keep you playing but I think less is more. Enjoy the journey.