Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Me? A copyright violator?

Blog Entries

Default Me? A copyright violator?

The cafe's Newbies group has a tune of the month (TOM) series going. Very similar to the Song of the Week group except we take longer and try not to be so dang good.

I have been posting Youtube videos to the TOM series for two years. Today I noticed that my most recent post, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H9C8cMG3Tv8, has been tagged as being a copyright violation.

The video consists of me struggling progressively less successfully through three clips of Temperance Reel at 75, 80, and 85 bpm. An outfit called AdRev has claimed that the 80bpm clip in this video is copyrighted. That is absurd. This tune has been around for over 100 years. Besides, I am dying to know why the 75bpm and 85bpm clips are OK and the 80bpm clip is not.

Anyway, they are telling me that they have the right to insert ads across the bottom 1/5 of the screen. I am going to ignore them at this point. I haven't seen any ads so far. I can't imagine there is much incentive to monetize the 20 or so views my videos get on average. But if I do see ads, I am considering taking it and all my other videos off of YouTube.

Maybe I have no reason to get huffy; I would appreciate any comments, advice, etc.
    New to mando? Click this link -->Newbies to join us at the Newbies Social Group.

Just send an email to rob.meldrum@gmail.com with "mandolin setup" in the subject line and he will email you a copy of his ebook for free (free to all mandolincafe members).

My website and blog: honketyhank.com

Default Re: Me? A copyright violator?

This is often an automated process using algorithms to compare sounds to ones under copyright. It is sometimes faulty. Other times it is actually a shakedown.
    Regardless, I suggest deleting the video from YouTube and uploading it again, maybe with a slightly different name.

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to colorado_al For This Useful Post: