Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Would you install a pickup on your expensive ($3k+) mando?

Default Would you install a pickup on your expensive ($3k+) mando?

I am installing a pickup in my other Eastman (MD305), just because I can, and after shopping F9's (but not buying yet), it occurred to me I would worry about installing a pickup in one of those. But I am a worship musician, so a pickup is pretty much required, not to mention it allows me to taylor my sound through a pedal chain.

But the thought of drilling into a $5k+ instrument makes me queasy, I'm not sure I could bring myself to do that, but stick-on pickups like the one from Schertler could work nicely.

Not to mention that pickups like all technology go obsolete pretty fast, great mandos on the other hand improve with time.

My Eastmans on the other hand, while nice, are disposable IMHO (at 1/10th the cost), so I can drill away with no worries, and epoxy something to the soundboard and not lose any sleep.

Curious how others have dealt with this.
    Davey Stuart tenor guitar (based on his 18" mandola design).
    Eastman MD-604SB with Grover 309 tuners.
    Eastwood 4 string electric mandostang, 2x Airline e-mandola (4-string) one strung as an e-OM.
    DSP's: Helix HX Stomp, various Zooms.
    Amps: THR-10, Sony XB-20.

Default Re: Would you install a pickup on your expensive ($3k+) mando?

Quote Originally Posted by kurth83 View Post
    Not to mention that pickups like all technology go obsolete pretty fast, great mandos on the other hand improve with time.
    I don't have an opinion on your quandary, but I feel obligated to point out that pickup technology hasn't changed a whole lot in the last century or so. That may not be the case with piezo systems as much, but those don't require drilling! "Obsolete" is a very strong word in this case.
    Last edited by thecelloronin; Aug-29-2018 at 5:04pm.

Blog Entries

But the thought of drilling into a $5k+ instrument makes me queasy