Thread: Greetings! New here and just getting started...

Default Greetings! New here and just getting started...

Hullo all,

Just wanted to stop by, thank everyone here for the vast amount of information they have offered over the years to people like me who find just about all searches for "Mandolin" arrive here. Your experience and help no only helps the people you are chatting with directly, but every other person who wanders in from the wilds.

In that spirit, thought I would mention my (admittedly short) experience.

I'm just starting to learn the mandolin, and am currently playing a Lucky Penny Model LPM50E/WH. I was skeptical, since there was nearly nothing about it anywhere, and spent a day or so researching: Seems it's actually a Stagg Model M50E/WH as far as I can see.

I also ordered a cheap amazon Savannah SA-100-BK A-Model Mandolin in Black... That one came to me in pieces, due to it being packed in a giant box with nothing but one wad of paper with it. <sighs> I reassembled it and thought it might be fine at first, but the G buzzed no matter what I did. Seems the bridge was utterly shot from the string getting ripped sideways off of it and messing up the slots. Took 3 days, but finally sent it back once I got in the Lucky Penny.

As for the LP, it's perfect. No buzz, stays in nearly perfect tune, and the electric sounds good too. It may not be the best out there, but it's perfect for what I need.

I also wanted a higher end one, even if only slightly. Ordered a Loar LM-310F from Guitar Center, and should be going to pick it up today. Just to say, I've found I'm not much liking Guitar Center as a company. I'll not go into it unless asked, but enough to say they are not customer-friendly. That comes from someone who's done YEARS of customer service jobs.

Over the last week, I've learned to tune it, adjust the elements like the bridge and nut, and general maintenance.