Thread: Bridge modification

Default Bridge modification

I am new to mandolins and would like to know if I can (or should) saw the string slots deeper on my bridge. I have lowered the bridge as much as I can and the action is still higher than I like.

Default Re: Bridge modification

Yes, but.... Remember that you can go too far. And you have to cut(or preferably, file) twice as much in the saddle as the improvement you want to see at the 12th fret. You also want the slots only slightly larger than the string gauge. The questions: is the action at the nut where you want it? Are you confident there are no other issues such as a bowed neck or a neck joint problem?

The best practice is to remove wood from the foot portion rather than the saddle (top).
    Robert Fear
    http://www.folkmusician.com

"Education is when you read the fine print; experience is what you get when you don't.
    " - Pete Seeger

4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Folkmusician.com For This Useful Post:

Quote Originally Posted by Folkmusician.com View Post
    The best practice is to remove wood from the foot portion rather than the saddle (top).
    Best to sand the top of the base if you have good bridge to top fit. You have to take the posts out, sand, then put them back
    Silverangel A
    Arches F style kit
    1913 Gibson A-1

6. The following members say thank you to Br1ck for this post:

Rick G 

I may be old but I'm ugly billhay4's Avatar

One needs to ask why the bridge needs lowering in the first place. Is the neck bending? Is the top sinking? etc.
    Bill
    IM(NS)HO

It’s a new (inexpensive) instrument. I have not checked the neck but it “looks” pretty straight and the top is not sinking. My guess is that it is just made that way. Like I said it is an inexpensive instrument.

9. The following members say thank you to Rick G for this post: