Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Short and fat fingers

Default Short and fat fingers

I am new to playing a string instrument. I was given a mandolin for Christmas and am presently taking lessons. I find that my short and fat fingers either do not stretch as needed or they tend to also catch a string next to the one(s) I am trying to press. I can not help but believe I am not alone. I am open to suggestions as to how to compensate or rectify this problem. I am reaching out for advice. Thank you.

Default Re: Short and fat fingers

Old A, F4 mandolins with wide fingerboards..

most extreme example; the ones Radim Zinkle gets made/ for his preferences..
    writing about music
    is like dancing,
    about architecture

The Amateur Mandolinist Mark Gunter's Avatar
    South of Cleburne, North of Hillsboro, Texas

Hi JCP! If it's any encouragement, my opinion is that most people who are learning a stringed instrument experience the same problems you're describing. The best general advice I can give you is (1) Don't get discouraged, and (2) practice, practice, practice. In other words, keep going. Your determination and your brain will begin to click in together and the difficulties will be overcome with time.

Beyond that, there are indeed specific things that can help with your problems, that are more easily demonstrated than explained in writing. One of those things is to realize that all four strings do not have to sound all the time - so a fretted finger touching an adjacent string is not always an issue. You just have to learn to be mindful of what string is being muted, etc.

Generally, though, as I said above, all this is tough for a beginner, and you are in good company. It takes time and practice to figure things out and make it work. While you can learn to play a tune or a few tunes in a short term, you can expect to be still learning for years or even decades to keep getting better. Enjoy the journey and don't give up.
    WWW.THEAMATEURMANDOLINIST.COM